More Information below

The Continents



Russia: The Western side of Russia (also known as European Russia) is part of Europe, while the Eastern side ( also known as Siberia) is part of Asia. I've put Russia under both Asia and Europe. The dividing line between Europe and Asia, in Russia , is the Ural Mountains.


Turkey: The Western side of Turkey (also known as Thrace) is part of Europe, while the Eastern side (also known as Anatolia) is part of Asia.

I've put Turkey under both Asia and Europe. The diving line between Europe and Asia, in Turkey, is the strait (a narrow passage of water) Bosphorus.


Trinidad and Tobago: There is some controversy over whether this country is part of North America or South America. I've put it under North America due to the information below:


The West Indies (or The Caribbean) is a large group of islands that comprise of three main groups: Bahamas (north), Greater Antilles (central), Lesser Antilles (southeast). Trinidad and Tobago is part of the Lesser Antilles. The more southerly part of the Lesser Antilles chain are called the Windward Islands. However Trinidad and Tobago (and Barbados) aren't part of it. The Caribbean Islands is region that is considered part of the continent of North America.

Caribbean Sea

Leeward Islands

(Above the line)

Windward Islands (apart from Barbados and Trinidad & Tobago) - below the line.

Bahamas is not on this map, it is further north.

The Oceans

Antarctic Ocean



Australia is a Continent as well as a Country.

Zealandia is a submerged continent, discovered in 2017 and could be official soon. This could make New Zealand part of Zealandia and not part of (the continent) Australia.

Oceania is a region consisting of 4 sub-regions: Australasia, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. New Zealand is considered to be part of both Australasia and Polynesia. Countries in these 4 sub-regions:

  • Australasia - Australia & New Zealand

  • Melanesia - Vanutu, Fiji, Solomon Islands & Papua New Guinea

  • Micronesia - Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Palau, Nauru & Kiribati

  • Polynesia - Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu & New Zealand


Website created on 23/03/2016

by Sophie Louise Horner

Last Updated: 21/01/2019

Social Media:

  • Tumblr


  • White Instagram Icon
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now